Skip to main content

Frequently asked questions

This section was created to answer the most frequently asked questions.

How many dice can I use per turn?

Only 1 per player turn. Players take turns one after the other until the end of the round.

How many dice per round?

2 in the first round (so 2 turns per player), 3 from the second round onward, and 3 or 4 from the third round depending on whether the 4th die has been unlocked.

How do I unlock the 4th die?

You must have pushed at least 2 kits out of the den (moved them to the right side of your player board). This can be done either during a round by using kit growth actions, or during the end-of-round kit growth phase.

What if I haven’t unlocked my 4th die while others have?

Tough luck! You’ll have to sit through their 4th turn with your arms crossed.

What can I do with my kit during the growth phase? Can I move it to the final growth space that costs a resource or a hunting tile?

Yes, you can move it there and gain the corresponding VP. But you won’t be able to move it to the den board to develop an instinct until a new private objective is completed.

What’s the difference between the green and dark VP on the final kit growth space?

Green VP are earned when your colored kit reaches the exit space. Black VP are for the two additional kit dice (which are dark for all players) when they reach that space.

What happens with the 5th player expansion if all kits are black?

It’s a trick, but foxes are smart, they recognize their own kits! Just track your dice. Extra kit dice are unlocked when a kit above them reaches the final space, so the second die to reach that space triggers the black VP.

Can I move an extra kit die ahead of a base kit die?

No. Extra kit dice must always stay behind the base kit die. They also can’t advance until the base die has reached the 3rd space.

Can I increase the value of a kit die once it’s on the den board?

No. Once a kit is moved to the den board, its value becomes fixed. You should maximize its value before transferring it.

Can I perform multiple actions with a single die?

Yes, that’s the idea, in territories only, you can do several actions on the same space. Be careful with action order! In the den, only one action per die placement is allowed, so at most two den actions per round. (Exception: bonus den path tiles placed via other actions.)

Can I move my fox to another territory during the same round?

Absolutely. You can place a die in one territory, do its actions, then on your next turn (after other players), place a die in the same or a different territory. Just make sure to always start movement from the base of the new territory.

Can I place a die in a territory and not move at all, to keep the full die value for VP?

Yes, it’s allowed, though not very fun! (Even playing only 6s with this strategy would cap you at 69 VP.)

If another player’s fox is already on the space I want, can I still go there?

Yes, multiple foxes can occupy the same space. But if there’s no hunting tile left or the space is marked by another player, it might not be worth it.

I need to place a die in the mountains, but it’s a 2 and the cost is -3. What happens?

You place the die, mark it as depleted, and pay 1 GP. Then you’ll need more GP to perform actions in that territory. It’s expensive, but sometimes necessary to save an objective!

Can I place den path tiles however I want?

No. Your path must start from the bottom of the den, and each new tile must be orthogonally adjacent to the previous one.

What if I draw a blocked (dead end) den path tile?

You can place it where it won’t block your path (it still grants 2 VP when placed), or discard it (put it back in the bag, you might draw it again), and skip your action for that tile.

I placed a blocked tile but need the VP, what can I do later?

You can do a value 6 den action later to take a bonus den path tile and replace it

If an objective requires specific kit die values, do I need exact matches?

No, the listed values are minimums. If it needs a 5, a 5 or 6 is fine. If it asks for 3, 4, and 5, and you have 4 and two 6s, that works too.

How do you resolve ties during effects?

The player with the highest total kit die values wins. If still tied, the player whose kits are closer to the exit wins. If still tied, both players keep their position in turn order.

Can I use both mini expansions, the Village and Firefox, together?

Yes, they’re compatible. But for early games, using both at once can make development tricky. Better to start with just one.

How do I exchange an objective card at the mountain?

You can “sacrifice” a previously completed objective. Place a die on the mountain objective exchange space (icons for objective and objective discard). The die becomes depleted no matter its value. Apply the bonuses/penalties on the card’s side. Tilt the card to show it’s been used, this action can only be done once per completed objective.

When do I get my action dice back after using them?

At the end-of-round scoring phase, after collecting the remaining values as VP.

What are the cheese spaces on the victory point track for?

If a player ends their turn or the end-of-round scoring on a cheese space of the victory point track, they collect the cheese.

What if I’m REALLY missing components or something is broken?

If you’re truly missing components or have damaged items, you can reach out to us here: https://ruse.games/contact-us

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Submit your question here:

Rules Questions